Prior ECE Student Award Winners

Message from the Department Head

Dear award winners,

I sincerely hope that this message finds you and your families safe and healthy. The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering congratulates each of you on the award for which you were selected from a slate of highly deserving nominees. We are very proud of your achievements, and we genuinely regret that we were unable to recognize you during Honors Week. The list of awards and winners appears below. This seems the only way to publically acknowledge you at this time. Your award plaques are ready and can be picked up as soon as we return to back on campus. If you would like yours mailed to you when we return, please email Leslie Jones at with your address.

Again, congratulations on what you have accomplished. Thank you for your significant impact on the department and university.

Roll Tide,
Tim A. Haskew, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Head

Award Winners for 2019-2020

Fred R. Maxwell Jr. Award
Nguyen Hung Nguyen, Jr.

Capstone Engineering Society Outstanding Senior Award – Electrical Engineering Nominee
Savannah Olmstead

Capstone Engineering Society Outstanding Senior Award – Computer Engineering Option Nominee
Jonathan Platt

Alabama Society of Professional Engineers Student Engineer of the Year Award – ECE Nominee
Daniel Williams

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award
Jonathan Platt

ECE Undergrad Research Fellows
Ethan Brooks

IEEE Outstanding Student Branch President Award
Jonathan Platt

IEEE Outstanding Student Branch Member
Calvin Flack

IEEE Outstanding Junior Award
Benjamin King

HKN Outstanding Senior Award
Caroline Hataway

HKN Outstanding Junior Award
Chloe Flack

HKN Outstanding Instructor
Dr. Kenneth Ricks

ECE Ambassadors
Reese Butler
Brandon Quinn
Shelby Critcher
Brandon Stevens
Lauren Faris

External Recognition for ECE Students

University of Alabama 2020 Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award
Spencer Davis

2019-20 ECE Awards Committee Chair: Dr. Fei Hu (